First United Presbyterian Church

The History Book Crosses

First United Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville has been active in Fayetteville since 1830. As we prepare for our 200th anniversary celebration, it can be satisfying to look back on the history of the church and community. One of the best tools is the church history book, A Light on the Hill: The Journey to Presbyterian Hill 1830-2016. 

The cover of the book, created by church member Kay Pickett, features several crosses. It includes the cross on the roof of the sanctuary, the seal of the Presbyterian Church USA, the Rose Window with its cross, and the Chi Rho.

Interior pages show more of the FUPC crosses and explore the history of the church from its beginnings as the Cumberland Presbyterian Church of Fayetteville before Arkansas became a state, through the unions of several different churches, to its move up to the current location on Presbyterian Hill.

As we spend the 2024 Lenten season tracking down all the crosses at FUPC, we shouldn’t overlook the crosses presented by this book.

The history book was a project of the FUPC History Committee, who worked on the book over a period of five years. These were the committee members:

  • Martha Brewer
  • Dennis Bailey
  • Sarah Harris
  • Bo Morton
  • Lee Power
  • Barbara Rutledge
  • Nancy Waite
  • Kay Pickett
  • Leslie Belden
  • Phil Butin
  • Sara Koenig

You can order a copy, or find it in the church library.

© 2024 First United Presbyterian Church – All rights reserved. Web Design by Haden Interactive.