First United Presbyterian Church

Selections from Bruch’s Acht Stücke, Op. 83

The Light on the Hill Chamber Music concert, scheduled for March 6, includes works by Mozart and Schumann, who may be familiar to many of us. But the third piece on the program is Acht Stücke for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano, op. 83 by Max Bruch, who may not be as familiar.

Bruch was a German composer who wrote more than 200 works. He began composing when he was nine, and won the Frankfurt Mozart-Stiftung Prize for a string quartet when he was 14. His compositions included a cantata, operas, and other choral works as well as pieces for many instruments.

Bruch worked in England for a time, leading the Liverpool Philharmonic. He taught music till the end of his life, working with students like Ralph Vaughn Williams, whose hymns we often sing at FUPC, and Ottorino Respighi.

Acht Stücke 

Acht Stücke means “Eight Pieces,” and the concert will include four of them.

This collection of beautiful works was written for Bruch’s son, who had recently become a professional clarinetist when they were composed. Bruch was already 72 years old when he wrote these lovely trios.

Acht Stücke will be presented at the Light on the Hill Chamber Music Concert on March 6, at  First United Presbyterian Church in Fayetteville. The concert is open to the public, and free of charge. The musicians include

  • Nophachai Cholthitchanta, clarinet
  • Timothy McDuff, viola
  • Pecos Singer, cello
  • Hyun Kim, piano

© 2024 First United Presbyterian Church – Revs. Jan and Phil Butin, Head of Staff. All rights reserved. Web Design by Haden Interactive.